UK Athletics have announced the names of British athletes to be funded on the World Class Performance Program (WCPP) for the Olympic season, falling under two main divisions as well as a small inserted Podium Relay group.

There rise several controversial cases and decisions going either way that feature shocking exits such as Martyn Bernard, Jemma Simpson and Louise Hazell; weird omissions like European Indoor 3000m champion Helen Clitheroe and Barbara Parker – two Daegu finalists come to that – and European Cup 1500m winner Charlene Thomas; while among the names that can be easily noted missing are also the likes of Andy Baddeley, Germaine Mason, Kelly Sotherton, Tom Lancashire, Jo Pavey, Tom Parsons and Anyika Onuora.

UK Athletics head coach Charles van Commennee on funding decisions

On the other hand, Beijing bronze medalist Tasha Danvers has retained her place despite having raced only once in the last couple of seasons, shown faith in her talent and potency unlike Olympic silver medallist Mason; Craig Pickering has surprisingly ‘survived’ at the top end, whereas Britain’s second fastest man James Dasaolu (10.11) hasn’t even made the Development draw-up and European silver medallist Mark Lewis-Francis just scraped into the Relay group;  and former world silver medalist Nicola Sanders returns to the ‘top flight’ after a relegation last year more on the ground of her solid relay exertions in Daegu, although that could be interpreted as a propitious early omen in view of the Olympic season.

Richard Strachan and Nigel Levine, despite a European U23 title, could have been more suitably accomodated in the Relay set-up and open up two more places to athletes with more medal potential pedigree about them, such as European U23 champion Lawrence Okoye who is lying ninth in the global rankings on a massive UK record of 67.63m in the discus this season, Simpson or Thomas.

Further, how could this ‘wrath’ on the high jumpers and milers to an effective rout, with just young James Shane surviving in the Development section, could be possibly reasoned and justified in any way, far more so when Matt Roberts has made the lower division at the same time? This is a selection that goes beyond even any stretch of the imagination when five high jumpers with bests ranging between 2.28 to 2.34 have been all shown the way out..

Very promising U23 duo of ‘General’ Jack Green and birthday man Nathan Woodward in the 400m hurdles, as well as rocketing high Holly Bleasdale in the pole vault, are promoted to the top division as a due reward on the back of breakthrough campaigns on the international scene to represent a promising future in the picture.

British sprint sensation and European Young Athlete of the season Jodie Williams has apparently opted to stick with her line of moving outside funding borders as in the previous seasons.

A European 3000m indoor title and a final place in the 5000m in Daegu didn’t turn out good enough to grant Helen Clitheroe a place in any class of funding for the Olympic season…

The athletes to enjoy the grace of funding henceforth are as follows:

WCPP 2011/12 Podium

Harry Aikines-Aryeetey (100m, Michael Khmel), Yamile Aldama (TJ, Frank Attoh), Michael Bingham (400m, Kevin Tyler), Holly Bleasdale (PV, Julien Raffalli-Ebezant), Chris Clarke (400m, Nick Dakin),  Tasha Danvers (400mh, Malcolm Arnold),  Hatti Dean (3000mSC, Bud Baldaro), Kate Dennison (PV, Scott Simpson),  Marlon Devonish (100/200m, Dan Pfaff), Lisa Dobriskey (1500m, Ricky Soos), Nathan Douglas (TJ, Aston Moore), Hannah England (1500m, Bud Baldaro), Jessica Ennis (Heptathlon, Toni Minichiello), Mo Farah (5000/10000m, Alberto Salazar),  Jack Green (400mh, Malcolm Arnold), Dai Greene (400mh, Malcolm Arnold), Phillips Idowu (TJ, Aston Moore), Emma Jackson (800m, Alan Morris),  Jeanette Kwakye (100m, Michael Afilaka), Nigel Levine (400m, Simon Duberley), Steve Lewis (PV, Dan Pfaff), Christian Malcolm (100/200m, Dan Pfaff), Lee McConnell (400m, Rodger Harkins),  Jenny Meadows (800m, Trevor Painter), Brett Morse (DT), Christine Ohuruogu (400m, Lloyd Cowan), Marilyn Okoro (800m, Ayo Falola), Craig Pickering (100m, Micahel Khmel), Tiffany Porter (100mh, James Henry), Shara Proctor (LJ/TJ, Rana Reider), Paula Radcliffe (Marathon, Gary Lough),  Michael Rimmer (800m, Norman Poole),  Martyn Rooney (400m, Nick Dakin),  Greg Rutherford (LJ, Dan Pfaff), Nicola Sanders (400m, Tony Lester), Goldie Sayers (JT, Dan Pfaff), Perri Shakes-Drayton (400mh, Chris Zah), William Sharman (110mh, Malcolm Arnold),  Richard Strachan (400m, Linford Christie), Chris Thompson (5000/10000m, John Nuttall), Chris Tomlinson (LJ, Frank Attoh), Andy Turner (110mh, Lloyd Cowan), Steph Twell (1500/5000m, Michael Woods),  Rhys Williams (400mh, Dan Pfaff),  Nathan Woodward (400mh, Nick Dakin), Mara Yamauchi (Marathon, Shige Yamauchi).

Par: Hollie Arnold (JT, Anthony Hughes),Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk), Sally Brown (Philip Tweedie), Mickey Bushell (Fred Periac), Libby Clegg (Keith Antoine), Hannah Cockroft (Peter Eriksson), Aled Davies (Anthony Hughes), David Devine (Brian Scobie), Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes),Dan Greaves (Jim Edwards), Katrina Hart (Rob Ellchuk),Beverley Jones (John Parker), Jenny McLoughlin (Darrell Maynard), Stephen Miller (Ros Miller), Scott Moorhouse (Dan Pfaff),Stefanie Reid (Dan Pfaff), Hazel Robson (Janice Kaufman),Ben Rushgrove (Rob Ellchuk), Nathan Stephens (Anthony Hughes), Sophia Warner (Jonas Dodoo), David Weir (Jenny Archer), Dan West (Dan West), Richard Whitehead (Liz Yelling/Keith Antoine),Shelly Woods (Peter Eriksson), Bethany Woodward (Jonas Dodoo).

Nicola Sanders returns to the top flight of UKA funding

WCPP 2011/12 Podium Relay

Shana Cox (400m, Chris Johnson), James Ellington (100/200m, John Powell), Mark Lewis-Francis (100m Linford Christie)

WCPP 2011/12 Development

James Alaka (100/200m, Clarence Callender), Meghan Beesley (400mh, Nick Dakin), David Bolarinwa (100/200m, John Powell), Ashley Bryant (Decathlon, Ian Grant), Abdul Buhari (DT, Mark Wiseman), Eilidh Child (400mh, Malcolm Arnold),  Lawrence Clarke (110mh, Malcolm Arnold), Adam Cotton (800/1500m, John Nuttall), Lee Doran (JT, John Davies), Max Eaves (PV, Alan Richardson), Luke Fagan (100/200m, Michael Afilaka), Adam Gemili (100/200m, Michael Afilaka),  Charlie Grice (800/1500m, Jon Bigg), David Guest (Decathlon, Mike Guest), Sophie Hitchon (HT, Derek Evely), Katarina Johnson Thompson (Heptathlon, Mike Holmes),  Luke Lennon Ford (400m, Linford Christie), Mervyn Luckwell (JT, Esa Utriainen), Jack Meredith (110mh, Donald Moss), Eilish McColgan (3000mSC, Liz McColgan), Mukhtar Mohammed (800m, Mustafa Mohammed), Jade Nicholls (DT, Andrew Neal),  Lawrence Okoye (DT, John Hillier), Andrew Osagie (800m, Craig Winrow), Scott Overall (Marathon, Robert Chapman), Andrew Pozzi (110mh, Malcolm Arnold), Charlotte Purdue (5000/10000m, Mick Woods), Julian Reid (LJ/TJ, Chris Harley), Matthew Roberts (HJ, Fayyaz Ahmed), Laura Samuel (TJ, Glenys Morton), Chris Scott (DT, Andy Neal), James Shane (1500m, Martin Brown), Lynsey Sharp (800m, David Sunderland), Alex Smith (HT, Shane Peacock), Stacey Smith (1500m, John Smith), Andrew Sutcliffe (PV, Julien Raffalli-Ebezant), Danny Talbot (100/200m, Daniel Cossins), Lorraine Ugen (LJ, Frank Attoh), Laura Weightman (1500m, Steve Cram), Laura Whittingham (JT, Esa Utriainen)

Par:Jonathan Adams (Malcolm Wallace), Sean Clare (Shelley Holroyd), Thomas Green (Ken Green), Matthew Hickling (Paul Moseley),Jordan Howe (Jane Coia), Jade Jones (Ian Thompson/Tanni Grey-Thompson),Rhys Jones (Jane Coia), Dean Miller (Bud Baldaro), Georgina Oliver (Paul Moseley), Jonathan Peacock ( Dan Pfaff),Vicky Silk (Anthony Hughes),Owain Taylor (Anthony Hughes), Kieran Tscherniawsky (Jim Edwards), Ola Abidogun (Stephen Thomas).



Kelly Sotherton upbeat in light of funding cut

Anyika Onuora has to keep going on her own resources

Ashleigh Nelson to fight her way despite funding blow