The British team to contest the World Championships in Daegu is due to be announced tomorrow but there are already pieces of inside information that have surfaced in the outer world. The first name that I can confirm is that of Brett Morse who, rather expectedly following the results at Crystal Palace, comes to  join new UK champion Abdul Buhari and Carl Myerscough to form the trio to represent the team in the new powerhouse event of the men’s discus.

By the look of things, Martyn Rooney looks very close to getting the selectors verdict on the men’s 400m following a time trial earlier today, where there is no A qualifier yet.

On the other hand, Eilish McColgan is certain to miss the rest of the season as she undergoes surgery on Wednesday and Hattie Dean looks unfortunately as though she’s not going to make it to full fitness in time, therefore Britain are likely to be represented only by Barbara Parker in the women’s steeplechase despite the presence of four athletes that have made either the A or B standard this summer.

My take on how the team would look on current particulars:


100m Dwain Chambers, Harry Aikines-Ayreety, Marlon Devonish

200m Christian Malcolm, James Ellington (third place to be named)

400m Martyn Rooney (maybe one or two added from the relay later)

800m Mike Rimmer, Andy Osagie (Muchtar Mohammed subject to discretionary selection)

1500m James Shane

5000m Mo Farah (Chris Thompson?)

10000m Mo Farah

110mh Andy Turner, Lawrence Clarke, William Sharman

400mh Dai Greene, Nathan Woodward, Jack Green

3000mSC Luke Gunn

LJ Chris Tomlinson, Greg Rutherford

TJ Phillips Idowu

HJ Tom Parsons (Martyn Bernard subject to discretionary selection)

PV Steve Lewis

DT Abdul Buhari, Carl Myerscough, Brett Morse

4x100m Harry Aikines-Ayreety, Marlon Devonish, Mark Lewis-Francis, Christian Malcolm, Craig Pickering, James Ellington

4x400m Martyn Rooney, Chris Clarke, Michael Bingham, Richard Strachan, Nigel Levine, Conrad Williams


100m Jeanette Kwakye, Anyika Onuora, Laura Turner

200m Anyika Onuora

400m Christine Ohuruogu, Lee McConnell, Nicola Sanders

800m Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro, Emma Jackson

1500m Hannah England, Lisa Dobriskey, Stacey Smith

5000m Helen Clitheroe

100mh Tiffany Offili-Porter

400mh Perri Shakes-Drayton, Eilidh Child

3000mSC Barbara Parker

Heptathlon Jessica Ennis, Louise Hazell

20kmRW Jo Jackson

LJ Shara Proctor

TJ (Yamile Aldama subject to discretionary selection)

PV Holly Bleasdale, Kate Dennison

DT Eden Francis

HT Sophie Hitchon

JT Goldie Sayers

4x100m Jeanette Kwakye, Anyika Onuorah, Laura Turner, Montell Douglas, Tiffany Offili-Porter, Abi Oyepitan

4x400m Christine Ohuruogu, Lee McConnell, Nicola Sanders, Perri Shakes-Drayton, Nadine Okyere, Marilyn Okoro

Does the team look a little small compared to the number of qualifiers? Such a shame really, so many good athletes to be left home on various grounds….